2010 in review

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

The average container ship can carry about 4,500 containers. This blog was viewed about 14,000 times in 2010. If each view were a shipping container, your blog would have filled about 3 fully loaded ships.

 

In 2010, there were 8 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 28 posts. There were 19 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 3mb. That’s about 2 pictures per month.

The busiest day of the year was July 11th with 308 views. The most popular post that day was Big News.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were community.thenest.com, facebook.com, twitter.com, search.conduit.com, and live.feedjit.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for teaching in abu dhabi, teaching in abu dhabi blog, teach in abu dhabi, teaching abu dhabi, and abu dhabi teaching.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Big News May 2010
7 comments

2

FAQ March 2010
8 comments

3

My Most Recent Adventure March 2010
6 comments

4

It’s winter in the UAE January 2010
6 comments

5

My First Week of School September 2009
7 comments

3 responses to “2010 in review

  1. Angie VanElsacker

    Hello Mrs. M 🙂
    I have read your blog and Im very interested in your experiences in Abu Dhabi. I am also a teacher, currently living in Vietnam. Unfortunately, the pay here is not enough to satisfy my student loans back home, so I’ve decided to look for a new opportunities. I have my degree in education, taught in the states for 5 years and I’m on my second year teaching ESL. I’m looking for someone who can give advice from their own experiences on the best way to get a job, the best schools that offer the best pay, etc.. I have applied through Teach Away, but I dont feel like this is the best way to pursue work in the UAE. I did what you said in your blog and went to a list of the international schools, and started to send out my resumes. If you have any advice/words of wisdom, it would be greatly appreciated. Either way, I enjoy your blog and the way you write:)

    Cheers, Angie

  2. I think that Teach Away is the officially selected agency for public school teaching jobs in Abu Dhabi. I am flying to New York tomorrow for an in-person interview with representatives of the Abu Dhabi Education Council. I applied to two private schools directly, but did not have much success with that. I also applied with several ESL agencies on line, and have had three solid contacts and interviews so far, Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and Japan. I have also had lots of e-mail job postings from other agencies that I have not followed up on yet. I wish it were easier to get into S.Korea, but some of their recently imposed requirements are a little ‘over the top’, even before you get interviews. My husband and I are currently going through “storage unit or sell it all” discussions.

  3. Helen Skondras

    Hi Mrs M

    I’m moving to Abu Dhabi and was wondering if you could give me some insight into a good primary school. My son is gifted and I would like him to go to a challenging and interesting private primary school. Could you please suggest some, I would be most appreciative.

Leave a Reply

