Just a Quick Update

Nothing major to report, but I wanted to update and let everyone know that all is well here in the good old US of A.  We had a frustrating setback with our immigration process for Ben; the USCIS (formerly INS) actually lost his green card application, and we had to resubmit everything.  We lost 5 weeks in the process.  He won’t be able to work until at least February at this rate.  The good news is that our immigration attorney was able to help us get the papers re-filed right away.  It could be worse, but it’s still kind of defeating.  I’m starting to think this will never be settled!  Hopefully, in a year or two we’ll be able to look back and say “Wow, that sucked, glad it’s over.”

For anyone who’s wondering, we do plan on having kids!  I wish we could just have them now, but it would really be wise to wait until Ben has a job so that we can have two steady incomes.  We both love kids.  We’ve talked about names.  In Ethiopia, children have their father’s first name as their last name, meaning my last name would be “Lawrence.”  In fact, our last name is Ben’s grandfather’s first name!  Legally (on his passport) that’s his “family name” so that has become both of our last name here in the USA.  It’s all very confusing.  But we might give our kids Ben’s first name as their middle name, to keep with Ethiopian tradition.  To him, the idea of just making up/choosing a first AND middle name for our kids seems very strange.  Welcome to the ambiguities and confusions of an intercultural marriage 🙂  At least it keeps things interesting!

My work is fine, but always stressful.  I’ve come to terms with the fact that the work will never end, no matter how much I do.  That doesn’t mean I’m not going to work hard–I am determined to make my students as successful as possible, this is their once chance at 4th grade, after all!  However, when I was in Georgia I felt like work was my entire life.  I didn’t have friends (outside of work anyway) and I didn’t have family nearby.  I would stay late, go in early, and spend all of my time doing either schoolwork or housework.  Being married and being geographically closer to my friends and family, I’ve had to make a lot more choices and it’s a struggle to find a balance between work and my personal life.  At the end of the day, though, I feel a lot more fulfilled.  I know I’m doing my best for my students, and I have someone to come home to at the end of the day who I love, and who loves me.  Also, sometimes he helps me grade papers, and that’s a nice plus 🙂

One response to “Just a Quick Update

  1. I am considering teaching in the UAE. Maybe we can connect so I can ask you questions… like, I see you had a cat there. Did you fly your cat all that way?

    t_lisa36@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

