Big News

Ben and I will be moving back to the US permanently in June.

There are a lot of factors that went into this decision, and I have mixed feelings about it, but overall I’m happy to be going back “home.”  The main problems are 1) Ben hasn’t been able to find any suitable work here and his visa has almost run out, and 2) My school isn’t willing to provide housing where both of us can live together, even once we’re married.

So, he’s heading back in a few weeks to the US (well not exactly “back” since he’s never been there before!) to stay with friends/relatives; where exactly we are not entirely sure, but he knows people in Ohio, California, NC, and Texas, plus of course my family in the Boston area.  I’ll be back to Boston on June 19th and am going to be looking for a job like crazy.  I just hope I can find something, because there are very few jobs for elementary teachers in general right now.  We could live pretty much anywhere in the US as long as I can find a job, so if you know of any places that are hiring, let me know!

Meanwhile Ben will be taking the CPA exam in California (the preferred state for this situation for various reasons) and we’re going to have to apply for a green card for him as soon as we get married so that he will be allowed to work, at which point he’ll be seeking a job as well.

So that’s basically what’s going on right now.  I’ll keep you posted on what happens next, and I’m serious abou

9 responses to “Big News

  1. Oh wow! So I am not the only one moving back home unexpectedly. Well I’m glad you are able to do what is best for you and Ben. I wish you a lot of luck in finding a job when you get home. Please wish the same for me!

  2. Holy cow! That’s great! I know it’s not what you planned but things have a way of working themselves out. I know you two will have have a wonderful life together no matter where you live. Good luck – can’t wait to meet Ben. Love, Aunt Toni XOXO

  3. im looking to teach in A.D through teach away. they pay for housing and allow spouses tp come with. ins is covered as well as housing. check them out at teachaway.com and also through their facebook page. teachers there give good insight into the program.
    good luck in your endeavors!!!

    • I noticed your blog said you were looking to teach in A.D. through Teach Away. I am wondering if you got hired yet. I just had an interiew and have one in person scheduled for Oct. I wanted to know if you were hired and have moved to A. D. yet. If so, what do you think of it? I wonder if the schools are any different going thru a placement agency like Teach Away than finding one like Marianne did. I found Marianne’s posts fascinating. By the way, thank you Marianne. You did a great job of describing life for you over there. It was fun reading your posts.

  4. Hi MArista,
    I have read about your passionate work in the UAE.I also read about Ben.I generally help teachers.I am a trainer.I have several jobs anyway….more of that later.I do know several American Schools in Asia that are looking for teachers.I can give you details.Please email me via this blog.I have subscribed to your blog too.
    Cheers,
    Kiron Manuel

  5. Teach Away is hiring and pays very well. They still need teachers now. They will pay for your flight to the UAE, your apartment for the full year and a great monthly salary. They hire singles, married couples and singe parents of any age. Good luck.

    http://www.teachaway.com

  6. Hi Marianne, How are you? Hope all is well. I meant to congratulate you on your wedding before now….but BEST WISHES! to you and Ben. Did you get a teaching job? I had to get out of electives before the layoffs hit, so now I’m teaching 8th Grade English in the same District, new school. It’s triple the work, but it’s an exciting, high-tech, modern school, and I’m growing as a professional educator. I’m grateful to have a job even if it’s going to take me like 15 more hours a week to deal with the grading. LOL

    I am only on Twitter posting classroom updates as @MissShanksClass now and I think you are no longer there as @MissMarista, so this was my only way to say hello. I am sending you and Ben peace, love, and prosperity vibes!
    Blessings, Suzanne [missSHANKS at gmail dot com]

  7. Pingback: 2010 in review | American Teacher

  8. Hi…
    I’ve been reading your blog and I hope you don’t mind me asking…
    I really want to get a job there in Abu Dhabi. My boyfriend is there and he’s been helping me find a teaching job.

    Can you help me? I want to know where I can apply directly and how.
    Thanks so much…

Leave a Reply

