Daily Archives: May 2, 2010

Big News

Ben and I will be moving back to the US permanently in June.

There are a lot of factors that went into this decision, and I have mixed feelings about it, but overall I’m happy to be going back “home.”  The main problems are 1) Ben hasn’t been able to find any suitable work here and his visa has almost run out, and 2) My school isn’t willing to provide housing where both of us can live together, even once we’re married.

So, he’s heading back in a few weeks to the US (well not exactly “back” since he’s never been there before!) to stay with friends/relatives; where exactly we are not entirely sure, but he knows people in Ohio, California, NC, and Texas, plus of course my family in the Boston area.  I’ll be back to Boston on June 19th and am going to be looking for a job like crazy.  I just hope I can find something, because there are very few jobs for elementary teachers in general right now.  We could live pretty much anywhere in the US as long as I can find a job, so if you know of any places that are hiring, let me know!

Meanwhile Ben will be taking the CPA exam in California (the preferred state for this situation for various reasons) and we’re going to have to apply for a green card for him as soon as we get married so that he will be allowed to work, at which point he’ll be seeking a job as well.

So that’s basically what’s going on right now.  I’ll keep you posted on what happens next, and I’m serious abou