Brief Update

I haven’t posted here in a while, so I thought it was about time for an update, even though I don’t have much to say that’s new.  Things are going well; I’ve mostly settled into my apartment and even decorated my room somewhat (pictures to come if my computer decides to cooperate!) and my classroom is also looking a lot more set-up than it was.  I got a couple of inches cut off my hair, and got it styled and blow-dried, and the whole shebang cost me around $11 at a very nice salon.

It’s funny how many things are significantly cheaper here than back home.  Another example is taxis.  My mom is coming to visit at the end of November (and we’re also going to Ethiopia together for a few days, yay!!!) and we’ve come to the conclusion that it may make the most sense for her to take a cab from the Dubai Airport–about a 2-hour drive–to my place in Abu Dhabi.  It would cost about $80, which by American standards is quite cheap for such a long ride.  A lot of things here are like that, but then you’ll find the occasional random thing that will be really, really expensive.  Generally these are imported things, like the label maker I bought at the stationery store downstairs.  It would cost probably under $50 at home, but it was nearly $100 here.

To sum up though, everything is going well.  I am making some nice friends in school and outside of school.  I picked up a couple of tutoring jobs: 5 hours a week extra teaching, adding up to about $900 a month in additional, tax-free income (unlike in Korea, where private tutoring on a teaching visa is technically illegal, here it is legal and even arranged though the school).  I guess that’s about it for now.  It’s 5:30 in the morning and I need to get ready for another week of teaching!

6 responses to “Brief Update

  1. I really enjoy reading about your experiences and following you on Twitter. I admire you for having the courage for taking on the adventure of moving to the other side of the world.

  2. Lots of news in that post, even if you think it was mundane. I echo Barbara: enjoy reading about your life there.

    ~ Maya

  3. Just wanted to say hi. I was out of school on Family leave act until 10/13. My mother was diagnosed with cancer in late July. She passed away 9/13.
    I didn’t have your site address until I returned to school.
    Glad to hear things are going well.
    Be safe
    Fran Jones

  4. I really enjoy reading you posts..I will move in September and would love any info that you feel is essential..

  5. Hi,
    I am looking at teaching in Abu Dhabi and have my first interview by phone scheduled on Monday. I am going through “teachaway.com” placement service. I have read your posts about how you found your job. Today, while reading, I am wondering about the extra tutoring you do. How do you decide what to charge, and if it’s not too presumptuous of me, approx how much? I am pleased to see that our visa would allow this type of extra income making. Thanks for all your help in showing me the things to expect. It’s been very helpful.

  6. It was great to read your blog and experiences. You
    answered alot of questions! All the best with everything and of
    course Ben

Leave a Reply

