Well-Travelled Kiddos

For my kids’ baseline writing sample (to see where they were with writing to start the year) we decided to have them write about their best vacation ever.  Reading over them this afternoon, I could not believe how many different places they have visited.

Amongst my class of 20, their stories talk about going to:

  • Syria
  • Michigan
  • Sweden
  • Egypt
  • Austria
  • India
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • Palestine
  • Texas
  • Malaysia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Paris
  • Italy
  • Palm Jumeirah (Dubai)
  • New Zealand
  • Los Angeles

Wow–those are some cool places!  At only 9 or 10 years old, some of my students have been to more countries than I ever will.  Pretty amazing.

4 responses to “Well-Travelled Kiddos

  1. Hi. I’ve enjoyed reading about your experience thus far. I too, am looking for resources for my classroom. Please can you give me the exact location of that shop called ‘Teachers Place’. I have phoned information and they don’t have any contact details etc. Thank you.

    Regards
    Kerry

    • I can try! Easiest is probably to buy the new issue of “Time Out Abu Dhabi” that just was released. There is a full page ad in the back of the “Kids” edition that comes with the regular one this month. The ad has a map and a phone number for the store. It is in Al-Muroor across from the Middle East Medical Center, just off Muroor Bridge Road. I have not actually been inside because it was closed when I went, but it’s a storefront with large windows so we peeked inside at what they had–it is very small but absolutely packed with American-style teacher materials and resources! During Ramadan they open 8pm to 12 midnight. I think I’m going to go back tonight if I have the energy (and the money)!

      Which school do you teach at?

  2. Lucky kids!
    I’m 24 years old and I only have been to KSA. Egypt and UAE. not so cool !

  3. Im da Jugga Nuttz, you Beezy!!

    Cool Beans Im In AD Too, from L.A (GO LAKERS!!)…Yeah been to Bean town and its hella better in AD specially the food and prices!! Thank god no boston chicken in AD (Jk)…Keep up the updates…peace

Leave a Reply

